Kelleen, I'm on it! A few factors come into play when small ruminants, such as many goat varieties, endure high heat. You can get one from any farm store. Heavy fiber, such as with Angora goats, can raise body temperature. Also, don't let infected kids nurse does; the udders may get infected, with painful results. On the other hand, sunburn is a factor with light-skinned and light-colored goat varieties.

First of all, you need to take the goat’s temperature rectally. And the most important thing you have to do during this entire process is to take a deep breath. Barns that are poorly ventilated, with a strong ammonia odor in the air and damp bedding, are unhealthy for goats. A goat's normal temperature is 102 F to 103 degrees F. If you have a sick goat, the first thing you should do is take its temperature. But, I have been raising goats for quite a few years now.

Severe butting, which may happen when a new doe is introduced into a herd, can also cause abortions.