I think it’s just a matter of time. The main deciding factors are; price, strength labeling system (Get it wrong and you're out of gas), and the Fibracell does not pinch my lips like the Legere tends to while providing the quality of play that I like. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser before proceeding. Would you start practicing drums at age 30+?

They are much better now than even just a few years ago. Carbon Onyx wins my vote. I got a Fibracell Premier and a Legere Studio Cut 2.5.

Relevance. I’ve been using and enjoying them for a few months now on both my tenor and alto. ( Not a happy event) the Legeres are in my opinion absolutely identical no matter when or where you get them (ie the 3 you played today plays exactly the same as the 3 played a month ago) and that and their longevity is what has sold me on Legeres.Learn to play melodies by ear and improvise solos using the 5 notes of the pentatonic scale.Develop your ability to play improvised solos using the Blues style and language. Radio Deejay Podcast,

Fibracells can last 3 to 6 months depending on strength.

The Hemp also feels lighter and easiest to play. Armstong got his break playing for an all-white audience on broadway as part of a black review called what. I too started using legere recently and the sound is ok but, i am curious as to what synthetic reed is the most durable (the longest playable lifespan)?.......thanks. I'm going to try a Légère studio cut too, I hear they're supposed to be more open and free blowing.

Hp Product Certification,

Before I thought it was stuffy and hard to blow, but this time it was easier. For about 6 months I've been using a Bari hard that I filed to soften.

(JL, if you see this, that's the frustration I was having at the jam last night - I'd go for my high squeal and it just wasn't there.).